Galaxy Tab S12 Ultra vs S12+: Screen or Portability?

Samsung has announced the Galaxy Tab S12 series with a familiar decision at its center: how much screen do you want to carry? The Ultra and S12+ share the same processor and software, but their displays, battery capacities, storage choices and wireless connections differ. That makes this a comparison of working space and practical compromises, rather than a simple ranking of the faster tablet. This report is based on launch materials rather than hands-on testing. Performance claims remain attributed to the company, and buyers should compare final retail documentation, privacy terms, warranty coverage, regional availability, and any recurring fees before deciding whether the product fits their own routine.

Samsung Galaxy Tab S12 Ultra and S12+ tablets with their included S Pens

Two sizes for different working habits

The Ultra pairs a 14.6-inch display with a body measuring 208.5 by 326.3 by 5.1mm. The S12+ uses a 12.6-inch panel in a 187.8 by 289.5 by 5.3mm body. Those dimensions make the Ultra a larger surface for drawings, timelines and documents, while the Plus takes up less space in a bag. Both displays are Dynamic AMOLED 2X panels with 120Hz refresh rates and a stated 1,600-nit peak brightness. Peak brightness should not be confused with a constant brightness level for every task.

Weight adds another distinction: the Ultra is listed at 692g for Wi-Fi and 695g for 5G, versus 553g and 555g for the Plus. A bundled S Pen is included with both. The comparison is therefore not pen support versus no pen; it is the size and weight of the canvas around that input tool.

Shared power, different room to grow

Both models use the MediaTek Dimensity 9500, so choosing the larger screen does not mean moving to a different named processor. Samsung claims the Ultra improves NPU, CPU and GPU performance over its predecessor, but those launch figures are not independent benchmarks. The shared chip is more useful here as a reason to compare other specifications before assuming the Ultra is automatically the right option for every workload.

Memory and storage create a clearer split. The Plus offers 12GB of RAM with 256GB or 512GB storage; the Ultra adds a 16GB and 1TB configuration above its 12GB options. Both support microSD expansion up to 2TB. More built-in capacity can matter for large local projects, but the announcement does not prove that every app benefits equally from additional RAM. Configuration should follow the work, not the model name. The demand for a larger mobile workspace also shapes foldable phones, but these tablets keep their screen area in a fixed form rather than folding it into a smaller device.

A tablet workspace with extra costs

The two tablets run Android 17 and One UI 9. Multi Window can divide the screen into three sections, which gives a practical role to the larger panel: notes, a reference and another app can remain visible together. The included pen supports note-taking and editing, although the specifications say it does not support BLE. Neither that omission nor the larger panel should be translated into an unsupported claim about compatibility with a particular professional workflow.

Accessories and services also deserve their own budget. The Pro Keyboard and Book Cover Keyboard Slim are sold separately. Samsung describes creative-app trials and subscription offers, with terms varying by market; a bundled trial is not a permanent licence. The sensible comparison is the tablet plus the tools you actually need, especially if a keyboard or paid editing app is central to replacing another device.

Battery and connections finish the comparison

The Ultra has an 11,600mAh battery, while the Plus lists 10,600mAh. Samsung quotes up to 23 and 21 hours of video playback respectively under its test conditions. These are playback estimates, not promises for drawing, gaming or simultaneous apps. Both support 45W wired charging, with the adapter sold separately. A larger battery also accompanies a larger display, so capacity alone cannot establish which tablet lasts longer in your own routine.

Wireless specifications offer another concrete difference: the Ultra lists Wi-Fi 7, whereas the Plus lists Wi-Fi 6E; both include Bluetooth 6.0 and 5G options. Benefits depend on the network and configuration used. The Ultra also adds an 8MP ultrawide rear camera beside the shared 13MP main camera. Those distinctions make the Plus worth considering when the extra screen, storage tier and connections do not match a specific need.

Samsung lists October 7 at 9 a.m. EDT for the U.S. Galaxy Tab S12 launch, while the global release describes select markets. Pricing is not supplied in that release. The practical choice is between the Ultra’s larger canvas and expanded options and the Plus’s lighter footprint, with regional configurations checked before purchase.

SpecificationGalaxy Tab S12 UltraGalaxy Tab S12+
Display14.6-inch; 2960 x 1848; 120Hz12.6-inch; 2800 x 1752; 120Hz
ProcessorMediaTek Dimensity 9500MediaTek Dimensity 9500
RAM / storage12GB / 256GB or 512GB; 16GB / 1TB12GB / 256GB or 512GB
microSDUp to 2TBUp to 2TB
Battery / charging11600mAh / 45W10600mAh / 45W
WirelessWi-Fi 7; Bluetooth 6.0; 5G optionWi-Fi 6E; Bluetooth 6.0; 5G option
Dimensions208.5 x 326.3 x 5.1mm187.8 x 289.5 x 5.3mm
Weight692g Wi-Fi / 695g 5G553g Wi-Fi / 555g 5G
Rear cameras13MP + 8MP ultrawide13MP
PenS Pen included; BLE not supportedS Pen included; BLE not supported
OSAndroid 17 / One UI 9Android 17 / One UI 9
AvailabilityOctober 7; U.S. product page lists 9 a.m. EDTOctober 7; U.S. product page lists 9 a.m. EDT
PriceNot disclosedNot disclosed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *